<< 益子博之×多田雅範=四谷音盤茶会 vol. 35 | main | 2019/10/27(sun)SUWA Presents vol.6 1950年代頃のクラシックを爆音で聴く 14:00-17:00 1500yen 1drink in >>
masuko x tada = yotsuya tea party vol.35: track listing

new from New York Downtown scene in third quarter of 2019


1. Emma Frank

Come Back (Justin Time Records JUST 262-2)

track 3: Two Hours (Emma Frank) 4:26

track 8: Lilac (Parks/Frank) 3:16

Emma Frank - voice; Aaron Parks - piano, synthesizers; Franky Rousseau - electric & acoustic guitars, synthesizers; Zack Lober - electric bass; Tommy Crane - drums; Chieh-Fan - violin & viola (1, 3); Simon Millerd - trumpet (6); Pedro Barquinha - acoustic guitar, electric bass, percussion, synthesizers (9).

recorded by Tim Gowdy at Studio PM, Montréal, Québec in August 2018. 

mixed by Pascal Shefteshy. 

mastered by Ryan Morey.


2. Chris Speed Trio 

Respect for Your Toughness (Intakt Records Intakt CD 336)

track 4: Faint Tune (Chris Speed) 3:17

track 10: Transporter (Chris Speed) 5:15

Chris Speed - tenor saxophone; Chris Tordini - double bass; Dave King - drums.

recorded live by Andy Taub at Brooklyn Recording, Brooklyn on November 29, 2018.

additional recording production by Eivind Opsvik at Greenwood Underground Studio, Brooklyn.

mastered by Huntley Miller at HM Mastering, Minneapolis.


3. Reid Anderson/Dave King/Craig Taborn 

Golden Valley Is Now (Intakt Records Intakt CD 325)

track 1: City Diamond (Reid Anderson) 5:54

track 4: This Is Nothing (Reid Anderson) 6:28

Craig Taborn - synthesizers, electric & acoustic pianos; Reid Anderson - electric bass, electronics; Dave King - acoustic & electronic drums.

recorded by Brett Bullion in Minneapolis, MN, August 2018.

mastered by Huntley Miller at HM Mastering, Minneapolis, MN in Fall of 2018.


4. Guillermo Klein y Los Guachos 

Cristal (Sunnyside Records SSC 1567)

track 1: Melodía de Arrabal (Carlos Gardel/Alfredo Le Pera) 5:32

track 5: Burrito Cristal (Guillermo Klein) 6:11

Miguel Zenon - alto saxophone; Bill McHenry - tenor saxophone; Chris Cheek - soprano, tenor & baritone saxophones; Diego Urcola - trumpet, flügelhorn; Taylor Haskins - trumpet, flügelhorn; Sandro Tomasi - trombone; Guillermo Klein - piano, vocals; Ben Monder - electric guitar; Fernando Huergo - electric bass; Jeff Ballard - drums; Richard Nant - percussion, trumpet.

recorded by Daniel Dettwiler at JazzCampus, Basel on May 31 & June 1, 2018.

mixed and mastered by Luis Bacque.


5. Taylor Ho Bynum 9-tette 

The Ambiguity Manifesto (Firehouse 12 Records FH 12-04-01-032)

track 1: Neither When nor Where (Taylor Ho Bynum) 5:24

track 7: Unreal/Real (for Old Music) (Taylor Ho Bynum) 9:27

Taylor Ho Bynum - cornet, flügelhorn; Bill Lowe - bass trombone, tuba; Ingrid Laubrock - soprano & tenor saxophones; Jim Hobbs - alto saxophone; Mary Halvorson - electric guitar; Stomu Takeishi - electric bass; Tomeka Reid - cello; Ken Filiano - double bass, electronics; Tomas Fujiwara - drums.

recorded by Nick Lloyd at Firehouse 12, New Haven, CT on March 3-4, 2018.

mixed and mastered by Nick Lloyd.


6. Anaïs Maviel 

In the Garden (Gold Bolus Recordings GBR 043)

track 1: Bells (Anaïs Maviel) 2:56

track 4: Listening (Anaïs Maviel) 7:47

Anaïs Maviel - voice, kamele n’goni, lyra, surdo, singing bowl, piano

recorded live by Dario Lozano-Thornton at Obey Convention, Halifax, Nova Scotia in 2018,

mixed and mastered by Dario Lozano-Thornton.


7. Shahzad Ali Ismaily/Niels Van Heertum 

Sea Legs/Hum Back (Aspen Edities Aspen 006)

track 1: Sea Legs (Shahzad Ali Ismaily) 0:00-2:54, 17:02-20:11

Shahzad Ali Ismaily - electric guitar, banjo, shaker, voice.

recorded by Hand Hechme at Irie Fire Studio in November 2018.

mixed by Hand Hechme at Irie Fire Studio.


track 4: Fugu (Niels Van Heertum) 9:24

Niels Van Heertum - euphonium, euphonium organ, conch shells.

recorded by Koen Wisen at Studio La Patrie in December 2018.

mixed by Koen Wisen at Studio La Patrie.

mastered by Gert Van Hoof at Cochlea.


8. Poor Isa 

Let's Drink the Sea and Dance (Aspen Edities Aspen 007)

track 1: Oceanfuls (Leroux/Machtelinckx) 4:53

track 2: Sill (Leroux/Machtelinckx) 2:23

Frederik Leroux - banjo, woodblocks, voice, thunderdrums; Ruben Machtelinckx - banjo, woodblocks, voice.

recorded by Ted Masseurs at Studio Pyramide in March 2019.

mixed by Werner Pensaert at Linster Studio.

mastered by Gert Van Hoof and Pieter Ketelslegers at Cochlea.


9. Tyshawn Sorey and Marilyn Crispell 

The Adornment of Time (Pi Recordings PI 83)

track 1: The Adornment of Time (Sorey/Crispell) 0:00-7:12, 23:02-29:06

Marilyn Crispell - piano; Tyshawn Sorey - drums, percussion.

recorded live by Philip White and Jonah Rosenberg at The Kitchen, NYC on October 21, 2018.

mixed and mastered by Nick Lloyd at Firehouse 12, New Haven, CT.


10. Flin van Hemmen 

Casting Spells & The Coves (Neither/Nor Records n/n 012)

track 1: Lusores (Flin van Hemmen) 2:25

track 6: Stilleven (Flin van Hemmen) 11:17

Todd Neufeld - acoustic guitar; Eivind Opsvik - double bass, glockenspiel; Flin van Hemmen - piano, Farfisa organ, percussion; Ben Gerstein - sample recordings (6, 9); Miriam Atkin - poem (11).

recorded by Joe Branciforte at Todd and Rema’s home, Brooklyn, NY on April 27, 2017.

mixed by Flin van Hemmen. 

mastered by Joe Branciforte.